Board of Directors

Charles Barr, President
Sarah Farnsworth, Vice President
Maurice Hutelmyer, Secretary
Ted Jacquet, Treasurer

Michele Andrush
Laura Hutelmyer
Richard Linderman, AIA, LEED AP
Keith Lockhart
Joseph J. Saunders
Patricia Theodore
Nancy A. Walls
Lynn Weber

Sharon Burnston, Emeritus

President's Message by Chuck Barr

As I write this in June of 2020, I am grateful for the past several strong years that have allowed us to weather the storm of a pandemic the last few months. I hope that we will be able to see you out at the farm before too long.
2019 was another lively and successful year at the Plantation. The Education Program was our busiest ever and our summer camps sold out for the third year in a row. Outreach Programs continued to take our mission to the community. We ramped up our workshop program with the addition of classes on weaving, scrimshaw and ox driven plowing.
Good weather later in the summer helped to increase our weekend visitation above what we expected. Our presence on social media appears to be having a positive effect. As I worked in garden I met many local visitors, but also tourists from several countries in Europe and the Far East that read about us and wanted to see what an eighteenth century American farm was like.
2019 also featured the completion or commencement of some improvements to the site, including a new roof for the farmer’s cabin, new fencing for the sheep and pig pen, and a refurbishment of our Visitor Center. Our membership increased last year and our fundraising efforts were successful with new events like Soaring at Sunset.
Under our Executive Director Jennifer Green’s leadership, we continue to develop new programming to diversify what our visitors see and create new education opportunities. In 2019 CPP promoted Education Coordinator Kevin Tobias to Farm Manager and the site has flourished under his supervision and with the help of his assistant, Eva Mergen and a dedicated and skilled corps of volunteers.
Finally I want to give a big thank you to Jim Adams, who stepped down as our Board President in January. Under Jim’s leadership we continued to improve our programing, staffing and financial stability. He has left our site a more valuable place for the surrounding community.

Click here to read the full 2019 Annual Report


Mailing Address
PO Box 158
Gradyville, PA 19039

GPS Address
3900 North Sandy Flash Dr
Newtown Square, PA 19073

General Email

Quick Links

Hours & Directions


Facility Rental

Photography & Filming


Sign up for our e-newsletter!

First Name:

Last Name:

E-mail address:

All graphics and text on this site are © 2017 Colonial Pennsylvania Plantation unless otherwise stated.